12 Tips for Gluten Free Living #6: Get to Know your Gluten Free Grains

Quinoa -- white and red Copyright 2013 by R.A. Robbins
Quinoa — white and red
Copyright 2013 by R.A. Robbins

Wheat is not the only grain available to us.  Even if you can no longer eat wheat, grains are still an important part of a healthy diet.  Alternative grains are an important source of fiber as well as other valuable nutrients.

Let’s list a few:

  • Rice (Check out the many different varieties)
  • Quinoa
  • Amaranth
  • Millet
  • Teff
  • Buckwheat (Don’t worry about the name, it is from the rhubarb family, not wheat)
  • Sorghum

Can you help add to the List? 

—-

Rogene Robbins is the author of The Gluten Free Good Life and other books available at Espirational Books  and Amazon.com’s Kindle Store. Please visit her Healthy and Gluten Free page to learn about Rogene’s own gluten free good life.

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “12 Tips for Gluten Free Living #6: Get to Know your Gluten Free Grains”

    1. Sorry Sharon, but couscous is not gluten free. It is made from Semolina flour which is made from bulgar wheat. There are companies making gluten free “couscous” using rice or other alternative gf grains. Couscous recipes may also be made using brown rice or quinoa. http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/Gluten-Free-Grains/fl/Is-Couscous-Gluten-Free.htm

      Figuring out what is actually gluten free can be tricky because of all the different names for wheat and wheat products.

      Like

Now it's your turn to join the conversation!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s